L31 Timing Chain Cover

Performance modifications, tips & tricks

Moderators: Eric@PPE, James B., flyingpolarbear, VicC

hquick
Posts: 4689
Joined: Thu Aug 10, 2006 1:56 pm
Location: Melbourne, Oz-----98 K1500 LT Suburban. RHD, 0411, Whipple, Marine, 4L80E, Trutrac, H/boost,E-Fans

Balancing

Post by hquick »

You'd have to get the pulley balanced afterwards!
I reckon, if I can get an old cover and maybe a shot sendsor to use as templates, I'll buy a steal cover from fleabay and make a cover up for someone to try.
Does anyone have a pic of the ctock plastic cover with the sensor mounted inside it...(from the inside).
Just want to see exactly what's involved. I could machine and tig weld the tubes into the cover...same as original
Howard

s10mods
Posts: 1721
Joined: Tue Oct 17, 2006 3:37 am
Location: 01 Grand Prix GTP, 99 Jimmy LQ9/60E.

Post by s10mods »

give me a few minutes and i will have a pic.

s10mods
Posts: 1721
Joined: Tue Oct 17, 2006 3:37 am
Location: 01 Grand Prix GTP, 99 Jimmy LQ9/60E.

Post by s10mods »

here they are. I also have some mesurements
.
Image

Image

Image

s10mods
Posts: 1721
Joined: Tue Oct 17, 2006 3:37 am
Location: 01 Grand Prix GTP, 99 Jimmy LQ9/60E.

Post by s10mods »

by the way it's really dirty it was from a burb w/200K that spun multiple berings. I dont know how it ran.

hquick
Posts: 4689
Joined: Thu Aug 10, 2006 1:56 pm
Location: Melbourne, Oz-----98 K1500 LT Suburban. RHD, 0411, Whipple, Marine, 4L80E, Trutrac, H/boost,E-Fans

Send the pic's to

Post by hquick »

howard_quick@optusnet.com.au
They are really big pic's. I can't d/load them properly at work (dial up). I have cable at home. I'll be home in a couple of hours.

Thanks

Howard

hquick
Posts: 4689
Joined: Thu Aug 10, 2006 1:56 pm
Location: Melbourne, Oz-----98 K1500 LT Suburban. RHD, 0411, Whipple, Marine, 4L80E, Trutrac, H/boost,E-Fans

OK

Post by hquick »

Sensor part looks real simple. Are there metal covers available of the same measurements?
Is there a motor which uses the same cover without the sensor? (in metal)

Howard

Speeder
Posts: 10772
Joined: Fri Apr 30, 1999 9:12 pm
Location: 2015 Tahoe 2WD 5.3L 6L80E, 2008 Colorado work beater, 2003 Dodge Dakota pro-touring project

Post by Speeder »

Hey guys, I just had a nasty thought. I'm pretty sure the sensor uses electromagnetism to operate, and it is designed to work with a plastic cover. Will making the cover out of metal prevent the sensor from operating correctly, since there will be metal right against the sensor? If the sensor is what generates the magnetic field, it may not be able to pick up the teeth on the crank gear if it is surrounded by metal. May have to use a non-magnetic metal like aluminum to make this cover.

hquick
Posts: 4689
Joined: Thu Aug 10, 2006 1:56 pm
Location: Melbourne, Oz-----98 K1500 LT Suburban. RHD, 0411, Whipple, Marine, 4L80E, Trutrac, H/boost,E-Fans

Should be OK

Post by hquick »

This type of sensor is usually pretty accurate and limited in it's field direction.
They usually only sense within a minimal range from the face of the sensor.

s10mods
Posts: 1721
Joined: Tue Oct 17, 2006 3:37 am
Location: 01 Grand Prix GTP, 99 Jimmy LQ9/60E.

Re: Send the pic's to

Post by s10mods »

hquick wrote:howard_quick@optusnet.com.au
They are really big pic's. I can't d/load them properly at work (dial up). I have cable at home. I'll be home in a couple of hours.

Thanks

Howard
I forot to turn my camera rez down. I have a 22" monitor and the rez set real high so i dident even think about it..

hquick
Posts: 4689
Joined: Thu Aug 10, 2006 1:56 pm
Location: Melbourne, Oz-----98 K1500 LT Suburban. RHD, 0411, Whipple, Marine, 4L80E, Trutrac, H/boost,E-Fans

So....

Post by hquick »

The 4 lugged ring in this pic sits infront of the crank timing gear, just inside the cover?

s10mods wrote:How about this? the hub is just steel the magnet is in teh sensor.What if you weld tabs to the outside of the pully? (in the correct location of course.) witch would make the pully one way fit. will the bigger diameter effect the siginal? I'm not sure but i think it would because the on pulse would be longer. if you kept them the same length as the orig hub then the off pulse would be longer. maybe moding a pully would be easier that fabing a cover?? .
Image
I'm trying to work out the best cover to buy as a sacraficial lamb for cutting and welding to adapt the sensor to.
Howard

s10mods
Posts: 1721
Joined: Tue Oct 17, 2006 3:37 am
Location: 01 Grand Prix GTP, 99 Jimmy LQ9/60E.

Post by s10mods »

Yep, It is actually dished just a little. The pic shows how it should sit.
Image

alsolek88
Posts: 16
Joined: Sat Nov 07, 2009 5:05 pm
Location: connecticut

Post by alsolek88 »

Do you need to have a crank sensor?? Is it something that can just be programed out of the computer?

Aloicious
Posts: 2241
Joined: Sat Apr 14, 2007 6:00 am
Location: 96, C1500, LS31, T56, 24x CNP/LS2 coils, Whipple, 411, EFILive, MPFI, ZZ4, Trutrac, 4.88...etc

Post by Aloicious »

no, you need a crank sensor

chucksrt
Posts: 73
Joined: Tue Aug 30, 2011 6:23 pm
Location: Bensalem, Pa

Post by chucksrt »

I have the 880 block and it looks like they have a provision on the block above where the flywheel spins. Did they have a 350 that had a flexplate/flywheel mounted trigger wheel that would have used a sensor mounted on the rear of the block?

indigoer
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Feb 18, 2020 11:07 pm
Location: New York

Post by indigoer »

For Europe Famaga is a good place to look at.

Post Reply